Saturday, 12 February 2011

Carl Jung

Carl Jung
Born : 26 July 1875 in Kesswil, Thurgau, Switzerland
Died : 6 June 1961 in Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland  

 He was a Swiss psychiatrist and founder of a neopsychoanalytic school of psychology, which he named Analytical Psychology.

Jung emphasized the importance of balance and harmony. He propose eight psychological types, based on the interactions of the two attitudes and four functions.

Jung's Psychological Types
Extraverted Thinking
Logical, Objectives, Dogmatic
Extraverted Feeling
Emotional, Sensitive, Sociable; more typical of women than men
Extraverted Sensing
Outgoing, Pleasure-seeking, adaptable
Extraverted Intuiting
Creative, able to motivate others and to seize opportunities
Introverted Thinking
More interested in ideas than in people
Introverted Feeling
Reserved, undemonstrative, yet capable of deep emotion
Introverted Sensing
Outwardly detached, expressing themselves in aesthetic pursuits
Introverted Intuiting
More concerned with the unconscious than with everyday reality

  • The Personal Unconscious ~ The reservoir of material that was once conscious but has been forgotten or suppressed
  • Complexes ~ A core or pattern of emotions, memories, perceptions, and wishes in the personal unconscious organized around common theme, such as power or status.
  • The Collective Unconscious ~ the deepest level of the psyche containing the accumulation of inherited experiences of human and pre-human species.
  • Archetypes ~ Images of universal experiences contained in unconscious.

Jung's Developmental Stages.
Ego development begins when the child distinguishes between self and others
Puberty to Young Adulthood
Adolescents must adapt to the growing demands of reality.
The Focus is on external, on education, career, and family. The conscious is dominant.
Middle Age
A period of transition when the focus on the personality shifts from external to internal in an attempt to balance the unconscious with the conscious.

No comments:

Post a Comment